Jarle Bernhoft, also known as Bernhoft, is a Norwegian singer, multi-instrumentalist, composer and lyricist. Bernhoft is from Nittedal in Norway, but currently lives in Oslo.

His best known songs are 'Streetlights', 'Shout', 'Choices' and 'C’mon Talk'. Bernhoft was formerly a vocalist and songwriter in the rock band Span (which broke up in 2005). Previously, Bernhoft had played in the group Explicit Lyrics with Fridtjof 'Joff' Nilsen, who joined him in Span.

The Prince of Norwegian Soul

Bernhoft has contributed on a number of recordings and concerts with mostly Norwegian artists, such as Hanne Hukkelberg, Dadafon, Bigbang and The Køhn/Johansen Sextet. He played in the band Green Granadas using the stage name Rod Hot.

He released his first solo album 'Ceramik City Chronicles' on September 1, 2008. In January 2010, Bernhoft released a double live album called '1:Man 2:Band', where one half is a recording from his solo show at a café in Oslo (Kampen Bistro), and the other half is a recording from his concerts at Rockefeller and at the Molde Jazz Festival, with a full band.

His second solo album, 'Solidarity Breaks', was released the next year in January of 2011. It hit Norway’s top 30 album list in second place starting in February and as of August had been in the number one spot for nine weeks.



bernhoft ceramic solidaritybernhoft bernhoft live

Album - Ceramik City Chronicles

Released: 2008
Label: Polydor/Universal

1 On Time
2 So Many Faces
3 Streetlights
4 Sunday
5 Fly Away
6 On Individuality
7 In The Streets
8 Prayer To A Landlord
9 Rats And Racoons
10 Firm Deep

buy amazon

Album - Solidarity Breaks

Released: 2011
Label: Kikitépe Cassette/

1 Sing Hello
2 Choices
3 Stay With Me
4 Good Intentions
5 Cmon Talk
6 A Bad Place To Reside
7 Control
8 Space In My Heart
9 Prophet
10 Shout
11Buzz Aldrin
12 The Light (Live)
13 In Tangerine (Live)
14 Choices (Live)

buy itunes  buy amazon


Album - Walk With Me -
Live At Chateau Neuf

Released: 2011
Label: Kikitépe Cassette/ Universal

1 Dark Fanfare
2 Buzz Aldrin
3 Control
4 Space In My Heart
5 Like Zinedine Zidane Did
6 Cmon Talk
7 Miniature
8 Walk With Me
9 Stay With Me
10 Lift Me Up ´till The Morning Comes
11 Sunday
12 The Light

buy itunes


Album - Islander

Released: May 16 2014
Label: Abbey Records Ltd

1. Come Around With Me
2. Wind You Up
3. Freedom
4. Don't Let Me Go
5. Chale Skit
6. Everything Will Be Alright
7. One Way Track
8. No Us, No Them
9. Arsy Skit
10. Esiwalk
11. I Believe In All the
Things You Don't

buy itunes



By visiting do you agree to our use of tasty cookies to enhance your experience?