Thursday, 26 September 2013 13:12

Danish Music Award Nominees Announced

Written by 

The Danish Music Awards 2013 is taking place at Forum Copenhagen, on the 9th November 2013. Two artists we are particularly happy for are Quadron and Barbara Moleko.

The Danish duo Quadron, Robin Hannibal and Coco O, are naturally attracting a lot of attention. Since the release of their second album "Avalanche" in 2013 they have received great reviews, a growing number of international TV appearances and finally even radio stations have embraced the electronic Soul group.

Also nominated is Barbara Moleko who, despite being eight months pregnant, gave a superb and energetic performance at the recent Scandinavian Soul festival in September. Her debut album Lykken Er earned a full 5 star rating from and we're happy to see her nominated too.

Here are all those nominated in the Danish Music Awards 2013:
Danish Album of the year
Christian Hjelm – Før Vi Blev Lette (Playground)
Marie Key – De Her Dage (Sony)
Peter Sommer – Alt Forladt (Sony)
Quadron – Avalanche (Sony)
Shaka Loveless – Shaka Loveless (Universal)
Danish Group of the year
Quadron (Sony)
Volbeat (Universal)
When Saints Go Machine (Parlophone/Warner)
Danish Female Artist of the year
Coco Karshøj (Quadron) (Sony)
Marie Key (Sony)
Nabiha (disco:wax)

Danish Male Artist of the Year
Mads Langer (Sony)
Peter Sommer (Sony)
Shaka Loveless (Universal)
Danish Hit of the Year
Lukas Graham – Better Than Yourself (Criminal Mind Pt. 2) (Copenhagen Records)
Mads Langer – Elephant (Sony)
Marie Key – Uden Forsvar (Sony)
Panamah – Børn Af Natten (Universal)
Shaka Loveless – Ikke Mere Tid (Universal)
New Danish Songwriter of the Year
Barbara Moleko (disco:wax)
Quadron (Sony)
TopGunn (Cheff Records)
New Danish Name of the Year
Christian Hjelm for Før Vi Blev Lette (Playground)
Coco Karshøj and Robin Hannibal (Quadron) for Avalanche (Sony)
Marie Key for De Her Dage (Sony)
Peter Sommer for Alt Forladt (Sony)
Shaka Loveless for Shaka Loveless (Universal)
Danish Producer of the Year
Anders Christensen for Panamah – Børn Af Natten (Universal)
Andreas Sommer for Marie Key – De Her Dage (Sony)
Robin Hannibal for Quadron –Avalanche (Sony)
International Album of the Year
Daft Punk – Random Access Memories (Sony)
Kanye West – Yeezus (Universal)
Kendrick Lamar – Good Kid M.A.A.D. City (Universal)
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Push The Sky Away (Playground)
Rihanna – Unapologetic (Universal)
International Hit of the Year
Daft Punk – Get Lucky (Sony)
Passenger – Let Her Go (Sony)
Rihanna – Diamonds (Universal)
PSY (SSAI) – Gangnam Style (Gangnam Seutail) (Universal)
Will.I.Am – Scream & Shout (Universal)
Danish Rock Release of the Year
Peter Sommer – Alt Forladt (Sony)
Volbeat – Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies (Universal)
When Saints Go Machine – Infinity Pool (Parlophone/Warner)
Danish Pop artist of the Year
Nabiha – Mind The Gap (disco:wax)
Marie Key – De Her Dage (Sony)
Shaka Loveless – Shaka Loveless (Universal)
Danish Urban release of the Year
Quadron – Avalanche (Sony)
TopGunn – 21 (Cheff Records)
Ukendt Kunstner – Neonlys (Ukendt Kunstner)
Danish Pop release of the Year
Allan Olsen – Jøwt (Zoobaba)
Folkeklubben – Nye Tider (ArtPeople)
Povl Dissing – 25 Minutter Endnu (Sony)
Danish Club Name of the Year
Kongsted – Chuck Norris (U&!/Warner)
Muri & Mario – Mambo (U&!/Warner)
Yepha – Ik' Gør Det (Sony)
Danish Live Name of the Year
Magtens Korridorer (Universal)
Marie Key (Sony)
Turboweekend (Parlophone/Warner)

Andy Collins

I'm a South Londoner now living in Sweden. I'm also a part-time DJ/ founder of Urbanlife Radio and co-founder of Scandinavian Soul. Music has always been my soundtrack to life and although I listen to everything, soul is always in my playlist.

Related items

  • New Video: Emily Simbi - Walk With Me
    Music doesn’t have to be heavily produced to evoke unbounded emotion and depth. Like a solo church choir singer, the tones don’t need to loud for the verbal echoes to reverb in an inner part of us - a part we call the soul.

    Danish folk/soul singer, Emily Simbi, who has Haitian roots, touches on these feelings with her new delicate ballad - Walk with Me.
  • Coco O (DK) - Hardest Thing

    Danish soul singer Coco O, from the superb duo Quadron, releases her first solo single and it’s a dreamy, soul treat.

By visiting do you agree to our use of tasty cookies to enhance your experience?