Wednesday, 03 February 2016 23:02

Cecilia Stalin - The Love EP

Written by 

Whilst listening to Swedish singer Cecilia Stalin’s The Love EP, it’s clear that the gloves are off and the challenge to produce the best soulful music in Scandinavia is on!

UK resident Cecilia first came to our attention with the Nu Jazz act Koop 'Waltz For Koop', and subsequently the release of her EP ‘The Story of Love is...’ in 2015, which was very well received by us. The jazzy/soul selections described by DJ Rich Chocolate as ‘a warmth inducing, elixir of life’ still resonate today.

Cecilia continues her theme of ‘love’ with her new ‘The Love EP’, released on Feb 1, which takes her in a new direction from her previous jazzy sound. Immediately from the opening harp strings that are overlaid with a spoken word intro, you just know this is something special.

Comparable with India Ire, Erykah and Nanna B, the track ‘You are... feat Stimulus‘ has a neo-soul vibe and sultry tones demonstrate a deliciously deep expression. The percussion gently works you into a rhythm.

Track one is quite simply sublime, and it doesn’t stop there.

Track two, ‘Falling in Too Deep’, is the crown.

Is it possible to wear out a MP3?

I fear I might with this broken piano beat track produced by Sam Champ.

Prepare to sink into 'Mahogany & Burgundy' featuring beats by Andre Yancey & Eric Espino - the perfect stress antidote wrapped up in 5 plus minutes of goodness.

By combining with producers such as Andre Yancey and Troy Broadcite, their creative alternative arrangements have all been added to Cecilias’ layered vocals to deliver a wonderful vibe. Personally, The Love EP is simply ideal for a lounge bar, a cool home soundtrack, or a late-night drive home.

THE LOVE EPEP’s tracklist is:
1. You are.... feat Stimulus on rap & Dean Mark on electric bass
2. Falling into deep feat beats by Sam Champ
3. Aisha (alt.take) feat Drew Beats (co-prod)
4. Mahogany & Burgundy feat beats by Andre Yancey & Eric Espino
5. Meditation feat beats by Troy Broadcite
6. Free feat beats by Sam Champ

Sometimes you feel like the world would be a better place if people had more soul in their lives, and they couldn’t go wrong starting here.

You are absolutely going to love The Love EP - I know I do.

THE LOVE EP is out now, available on both iTunes and Bandcamp

Andy Collins

I'm a South Londoner now living in Sweden. I'm also a part-time DJ/ founder of Urbanlife Radio and co-founder of Scandinavian Soul. Music has always been my soundtrack to life and although I listen to everything, soul is always in my playlist.

Related items

  • Cecilia Stalin - The Story of Love is...

    Having just returned from my annual pilgrimage to the Stockholm Jazz Festival, my heart and ears fully drenched in Jazzy vibrations, it was with open arms and music ready ears that I gratefully received The Story of Love EP, the latest release from Swedish born, London resident Cecilia Stalin.

By visiting do you agree to our use of tasty cookies to enhance your experience?